Artikel über die Kirchen in der Zweidrittelwelt: Russland, der Ukraine, in China und mehr

Seit Mitte der 70er Jahre befasse ich mich mit dem Thema Kirche, überwiegend in Osteuropa. Eigentlich wohne ich bereits seit 2002 in Rußland. Auf dieser Webseite möchte ich alle gegenwärtigen Beiträgen zeigen - ältere Beiträge können als eine Art Archiv verstanden werden. Wenn Sie einen Blick auf die älteren Beiträge werfen, wird Ihnen ein Themenwandel auffallen. Von 2007 bis etwa 2014 befaßte ich mich intensiv mit einer Berichterstattung über die Union der Russischen Baptisten in Moskau. Heute sind die Themen breiter gestreut. Hin-und-wieder schreibe ich weiterhin über oder auch für die Russische Evangelische Allianz.

 

Mir ist sehr wichtig, daß ich über das berichte, was ich sehe und erfahre. Mir geht es nicht darum, Gelder für ein Vorhaben zu sammeln. Bei meinen Beobachtungen bin ich keineswegs vor Fehleinschätzungen gefeit, Es handelt sich aber auf jeden Fall um meine Beobachtungen und Auffassungen. Ich bin nicht das Mundwerk "fremder Herren". Die volle Objektivität wird nie erreicht, sie bleibt jedoch Richtung und Ziel. Jawohl, einige wenige Artikel stammen nicht vor mir.

 

Noch ein Wort zum Begriff "Zweidrittelwelt". Ich entnehme ihn der Unterscheidung im Kalten Krieg zwischen einer "Zweiten" und einer "Dritten Welt". Legt man die beiden zusammen, ergibt sich der Terminus "Zweidrittel". Doch eigentlich muß man einräumen, daß diese beiden Welten heute mehr als 3/4 der Weltbevölkerung ausmachen. Ein weiterhin wohlhabender Westen stellt weniger als ein Viertel der Weltbevölkerung dar. Es ist ja an der Zeit, daß sich diese "Erste Welt" verstärkt mit dem befaßt, was die große Mehrheit der Menschen erlebt.

 

Seriöse Kommentare zu meinen Beiträgen, ob positive oder negative, veröffentliche ich gerne - aber auch nur solche. Es sollen keine Menschen verhöhnt werden.



Nachrichten aus Eurasien

Dr.phil. William E. Yoder


Im Jahre 1950 kam ich auf diesem Globus an. In den Jahren zwischen 1975 und 1990 war die Deutsche Demokratische Republik mein Hauptthema. Meine Dissertation, die ich 1991 an der Freien Universität Berlin verteidigte, befaßten sich mit der uniiert-lutherischen Kirche in der DDR während des Kalten Krieges. Als die Mauer dann fiel, fand ich mich plötzlich ohne Thema, denn ich wollte mich nicht primär mit der Vergangenheit befassen. Der Umzug dann von Berlin nach Rußland 2002 war die Fortsetzung meiner Lebenseinstellung. Ich möchte über die Schwächeren berichten, das weniger Glanzvolle, die zweite Garnitur - jedenfalls nach westlichen Vorstellungen. Die "Wenigerpolierten" sind auch interessant und sie sind auf Weltebene mit großem Abstand in der Überzahl.

 

Manche werden es schon an meinem Familiennamen erkennen: Ich bin amischer und mennonitischer Herkunft, geboren in Ohio/USA. Im Jahre 1971 bin ich das erste Mal in Deutschland und Europa angekommen - die Gegend habe ich eigentlich nie wieder verlassen. Mit meiner russischen Gattin, Galina, wohne ich in der russischen Exklave Kaliningrad, 30 km südlich der hiesigen Hauptstadt. Aber wir haben auch einen kleinen Wohnsitz in Berlin. Ich bin weiterhin Staatsbürger der USA.

Articles on the church in the 2/3rds' World: Russia, Ukraine, China and more

Dear reader, welcome!

I've been writing on the church, mostly in Eastern Europe, since the mid-1970's, in fact, I've been living in Russia since 2002. I'll want to post all of my current articles on this site while using the older years as a kind of archive. If you would look through the older items, you will see a transition in topics. From 2007 until about 2014, I wrote heavily on the affairs of the Russian Baptist Union. The topics are now more general and broader; I do at times still write on and for the Russian Evangelical Alliance.

 

Very important for me is the fact that I attempt to write what I see and experience. I'm not trying to raise funding for others. I can be wrong in my observations, but they truly are mine, and they reflect my opinion. Objectivity is never total, but it is a goal to which one aspires. Yes, a few of these articles are not from me.

 

Let me explain what I mean with the term "2/3 world": It originates from the Cold War terms "Second World" (the Communist one) and the "Third World" (the Developing one). If you combine the two, you have "2/3". At the same time, one could say these two worlds make up 2/3 of the globe's population. But actually, it's higher than 3/4. The still-wealthy Western world located mostly in Europe and North America makes up less than 1/4 of the world's population. So it's time for the "First World" to pay more attention to that which is occurring among the vast majority.

 

I'm happy to publish serious commentary on my articles, be they positive or negative. Something unusual under "Education, Writing" in English and "2010-2019" in Russian is an article on how to write as a journalist.

 

As of 2022, I’m hard at work putting older articles on this site. In the years from 1989-1994 I wrote a great deal in English on the process of German reunification – see them under the heading “Germany”. Note also the large article from 4 October 2010. You will find more of them under the heading “Deutschland” on the German-language page. A report from 18 July 1983 under the heading of “Germany” reports on East German commemoration of the Luther-Year. That was an unforgettable year for the East German church.

 

I reported extensively from 1991-95 in English on church issues during the Yugoslav war. And did you know that a Soviet ship brought Bibles to North Vietnam during that Asian war? You’ll find this under the heading of “Asia”, dated 6 July 1981.

 

Newest Articles as of July 2022:

1. "The Baptist Home for the Elderly in Belarus has No Reason to Hide" under "Belarus"

2. "Baptists – Champions of the Belarusian Nation" under "Belarus"

3. "Evangelicals in the Russian-Ukrainian Conflict" under "Ukraine, Moldova"

4. "An Update on Ukraine" under "Ukraine, Moldova"

5. "To the negotiations table!" under "Ukraine, Moldova"

6. "Conversation with the Pastor of Moscow's Biggest Protestant Congregation" under "RU Pentecostals"



News from Eurasia

Addit. Churches

Ecumenical

Latin America

Poland

Asia

Education & Writing

RU Lutherans

Ukraine, Moldova

RU Baptists

Ev Alliance, Breakfast

Mennonites anywhere

UA Non-Political

Baptists elsewhere

Ev-Christians

North America

West & East

Belarus

 Germany

Orthodoxy

West Missions

Caucasus

RU Interconfessional

RU Pentecostals

Ex-Yugoslavia




I was born in 1950. In the years from 1975 to 1990, my topic was the church in the German Democratic Republic. My Ph.D. in Berlin in 1991 was on the Lutheran church in the GDR during the period of the Cold War. But when the Wall fell, I had essentially lost my topic, for I did not want to write largely about the past. Moving to Russia from Berlin in 2002 was the prolongation of that interest. My goal is to report on the weaker, the less-flashy, the "also-rans", at least so in the estimation of the mainstream West. The less-polished are interesting too, and they outnumber by far the small, flashy crowd of the wealthy Western elite.

 

As some can tell from my last name: I am of Amish and Mennonite background, born in Ohio/USA. I first came to Germany and Europe in 1971 and never really left. My Russian spouse, Galina, and I are now living in the Russian enclave of Kaliningrad, 30 km south of that city. But we have a German address, too. I'm a citizen of the USA and since 11-2021, also of Russia.

William E. (Bill) Yoder, Ph.D.